News & Events

Below you will find all upcoming events scheduled for SAAVA members. If you would like to attend one of these events or have a question about the event please contact the event organiser.

SAAVA AGM Review (12th March 2020)



SAAVA President Ian Austin welcomed over 70 attendees to this year’s AGM & CAAV Spring Briefing held at the Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club, Kirknewton, Edinburgh.  During the AGM Mr Austin launched the new Livestock Contract Farming Agreement which would be distributed to Members shortly.  Mr Austin has also changed the format of SAAVA Council Meetings, making them based on industry updates fed in from Council and SAAVA Members, and the Minutes are then circulated to Members to keep them updated and informed as issues arise.   

Mr Austin stood down as President following his two-year term and Jane Mitchell was elected as President for 2020.  Jane is the first ever female SAAVA President. 

Mark Fogden from Savills is to take up the position of Vice President.   

James Begg from Allanthan Associates is to join SAAVA Council  

Christine Nisbet also stood down as Secretary following seven years of dedicated assistance to SAAVA and her work colleague, Debbie Edmondson from FBR Seed is to take over the role of Secretary with immediate effect. 

SAAVA were delighted to welcome Professor Wayne Powell, Principal and Chief Executive of SRUC and Colin MacEwan, Director of Commercialisation and Innovation in SRUC.  The topic chosen was Agriculture – Being one step ahead.’  The audience was given an insight into scientific developments, covering genetics in both plant breeding and livestock, which will be used to develop strategies to take Agriculture into its next phase post Brexit.  

The current CAAV President, David Brooks attended the event and provided an update on his time in office so far.  MBrooks along with Mrs Mitchell also presented this year’s 6 new Scottish CAAV Members (to those who were present) with their Fellow Certificates following their recent examination success.  ThMartin Hall Presidents Cup for the highest mark in the Scottish CAAV examinations was presented to this year’s winner, Kevin Stewart of Laurence Gould in Dunfermline, who also goes away with a £250 voucher towards attending the CAAV AGM and Conference.  The other new Scottish CAAV Fellows include: 

David Brewster from David Brewster, Perth; Rosanna Fraser from Bidwells, Perth; Hannah Melville from Davidson & Robertson, Linlithgow; Louisa Robertson from Savills in Perth and Helena White from Davidson & Robertson, Edinburgh. 

The event also hosted the CAAV Scottish Spring Briefing with various topical presentations from Jeremy Moody and Kate Russell from CAAV including the ‘Annual Land Occupation Survey’ suggesting little change to the tenancy market.  Mr Moody went on to discuss an alternative being a ‘Livestock Farming Agreement’ for larger livestock holdings.  This was followed by an “Up to the Minute” BUDGET appraisal from Mr Moody.  Mrs Russell concluded the day with a CPO Best Practice Overview and Telecom update